en-US | el-GR
Agreement on the conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA-CMS)
The Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) was signed on 16 June 1995 and adopted on 1 November 1999. This intergovernmental treaty is dedicated to the conservation of migratory waterbirds and their habitats across Africa, Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, Greenland and the Canadian Archipelago.The core activities carried out under AEWA in order to achieve this objective include species and habitat protection measures, the management of human activities to warrant the conservation of migratory waterbirds and research on the waterbird populations and on the threats they may face. Further activities like capacity building, education and awareness-raising are also essential tasks for the implementation of the Agreement.