en-US | el-GR
Meetings of the Parties
1st Ministerial Meeting of the OSPAR Commission, 20 – 24 July 1998, Sintra (Portugal): Adoption of Annex V, which extended the international cooperation of States Parties in all human activities which may adversely affect the marine environment of the North-East Atlantic. The Annex also  expresses the will of the parties to cooperate with non-members of the Convention and other international organizations (for Danube, Rhine, etc.). Finally, strategies for five specific pollution sources and human activities that adversely affect the human environment.

2nd Ministerial Meeting of the OSPAR Commission, 25 – 26 June 2003, Bremen (Germany): Adoption of the text "Commission's Strategy for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic."  Also, during the Ministerial meeting, a joint meeting of the OSPAR and Helsinki Committees was held.

3rd Ministerial Meeting of the OSPAR Commission, 20 – 24 September 2010, Bergen (Norway): Creation of the first network of protected areas of the high seas in the area of the Atlantic.


1st Joint Ministerial Meeting of the Helsinki and OSPAR Commission (JMM), 25 – 26 June 2003, Bremen (Germany): Joint Meeting of OSPAR Commission and HELCOM Commission: the result of  the Joint Meeting was the Work Program on Marine Protected Areas (Joint HELCOM / OSPAR Work Programme on Marine Protected Areas), whose purpose was to create a coherent and effective ecological management program for Marine protected Areas which are under the jurisdiction of both HELCOM (Baltic Sea) and the OSPAR (North Atlantic). Such cooperation between the two committees is included in the founding objectives, namely the cooperation with other regional international conventions for the implementation of joint programs and activities.